Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    ryan17

Hi everyone,

I’m Ryan, I joined the forum today. Just finished introducing myself.

I’ve been eager to learn self defense, and I’m very eager to learn Krav Maga. I live in Stockton, Ca. 17 Male, 5’6, 150. I’m not in shape. I’ve never had prior martial arts or fighting experience. I’m timid, shy, and not aggressive.

I’m new to the Krav Maga world. Here’s some stuff I’m concerned about:

1. I have read that for Krav Maga, a person should have prior martial arts experience to learn more effectively. How true is this, and how would a person like me, who doesn’t know the correct form for punching or kicking, be affected?

2. I’m not very in shape, but I’m not too out of shape either. What should I do to prepare for something so vigorous as Krav Maga? I’ve read some puke on their first day, others pass out. How does a first day go? I’ve never been to a gym, so I don’t know how to properly lift weights or stuff like that. (You can imagine how nervous I am just thinking about how my first day will go)

3. Is Krava Maga right for someone as inexperienced as me? Seeing as how I don’t even know how to properly liftweights, punch, or kick. Should I do something less strenuous?

4. Can anyone recommend a place here in Stockton, Ca?

Thanks for taking your time and helping a new member out! 🙂

wiccaman

Re: New to Krav Maga

Hi Ryan, welcome aboard.