Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    jackb03

Im sure this post has been on here a lot. Just wanted to ask some questions for y’all. Im new to martial arts and never trained to fight. Im 28 years old and looking to get back into shape. Ive heard KM would be a good place to start for beginners, self defense and to get in-shape.

When looking online, a lot of people frown on KM. Most claim to go to MT or BJJ first since you learn a lot more plus groundwork. My main goal is to learn to protect myself in a street fight. I dont think Ill ever try to compete.

Has anyone ever actually used KM in a street fight?

Is it effective?

Should I do another type of martial arts for what Im trying to accomplish?

Thanks everyone,
    Jack

doublestrike

Re: New to Martial Arts

Hi JackB03,

Due to the fact that you posted your question in a KM forum, the answers you’ll most likely receive will be obviously biased towards KM. 🙂

In my experience, most people who have trained in KM or who are currently training KM have had some sort of prior martial / fighting arts experience. They usually have relatively good grasp of the basics that all systems possess. They usually find themselves drawn to KM because of its no-nonsense / direct movements that are designed to for one goal – they simply work.

A good number of my fellow classmates at my KM school work in law enforcement and are active U.S. military. That in itself speaks volumes. Personally after training in KM for about 7 months or so, a jerk of an employee surprised me in the hallway at work where he did a double hand choke to my neck from behind to startle me. I instinctively executed the appropriate KM defense without thinking. Obviously this wasn’t a street fight and my life was not in danger, but my reaction to the situation pleased me to no end and further solidified my belief in the validity of KM.