Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author

Does anyone know how come there’s no KMW licensee in Manhattan or the outer boroughs? I’m in LA but it’s my hometown (dad in Manhattan, mom in The Bronx) and haven’t been back since I started training approx. 6 months ago. Will be there a lot in the next few months (holidays, a work thing, sister having baby) and while there am thinking of trying KMF on 25th St. or IKMF which has Upper West Side/Midtown/Tribeca classes. Both of those are convenient to my subway lines. Obviously I’d start with Level 1 at either of those places, even though I’m KMW Level 2. (For the record, I still take Level 1 classes at least once a week and they still school me/kick my butt. I only mention that so no one thinks I’m saying I’m above taking Level 1, which couldn’t be further from the truth.)

Anyway, forgive the digression, I just really am curious as to why KMW is only on Long Island and Westchester (which I ain’t doing) in the NYC area. And also if anyone has any advice/recs about either of those places (no federation bashing please, just honest experiences/student feedback) that would be incredibly helpful.

Many thanks, Kravmunitty! Happy training.

lions2011

Re: New York City Krav

There are several Krav organizations but for the USA the krav worldwide appears to be the biggest and most popular. I would just take classes from a certified school on the krav maga worldwide website. Every Krav Maga instructor certified from LA seems to be able to teach extremely well.
    The other krav organizations seem much smaller in the USA.

bear34

My friend from Statten Island trains with KMF when she is at home and speaks highly of them. We are IKMF in Minneapolis.

davidkahn

Metta,

Hi, next week we will officially open our IKMA New York City Location at 49th and 2nd Ave. You are most welcome to train with us. (212) 593-KRAV. http://www.kravnyc.com

Best,

David Kahn

esquire32