Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Pain While Swallowing After Sleeper Hold, Normal?

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    azhura

Hey guys, I’ve been doing Krav Maga for about 7 months and about an hour and 1/2 ago in class we were learning how to get out of sleeper holds (rear carotid artery chokes). The instructor informed us that we would need to feel the choke first to get the gist of getting out of it. I’d never done this type before so my partner started the choke and I replied “yeah I feel it” but they didn’t let go (probably couldnt understand me while choked). Then when I started to choke they let go immediately and the instructor (who was 1 foot away observing this entire time) informed me that I should have tapped out faster.

He never told us we had to tap out nor did I see anyone else tapping out. Anyway the choke was about 4-5 seconds and it was pretty hard. My throat immediately was sore (obviously) but now it’s 2 hours later and it still hurts to swallow (kind of like strep throat very sharp pain on the lower right side right under the chin near the trachea/esophagus). The instructor said it’s normal but it’s pretty painful. I freaked myself out googling all this crap about people saying they got sleeper held and their pain lasted for 3 weeks, articles on hyoid bones snapping, vertebrae misalignments, etc. It’s my first time being choked like that.

Anyway, I’m probably just freaking myself out for no reason and should stop being a baby and let it go, but is this pretty normal to have pain swallowing where liquids/food are actually pretty painful to consume? Keep in mind this was only an hour and a half ago.

I’d appreciate your thoughts on this 🙂

hicklinc

Re: Pain While Swallowing After Sleeper Hold, Normal?

i believe you will be fine just give it a couple days

kmman