Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Personal Protection Officer

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    wgooden

I have recently started taking Krav Maga instruction and wanted to know if there were other body guards that were using Krav Maga techniques in their toolbox. I have been to a few PPO seminars where it seemed that instructors were borrowing a lot from Krav Maga, but not really giving credit where credit is due. Of course that is just my opinion. I know that in some gun disarms in Krav Maga there is really no consideration to the client or third person in that the weapons muzzle sweeps behind the ppo while blading his body … that can be countered by diverting the weapon upward instead of down. Since I am new at this … there is probably a lot more ways to disarm besides the few that I have seen.

I would appreciate other body guards commenting here.

Thanks

Re: Personal Protection Officer

There are numerous third party defenses for just about any weapon you can think of. Several are just applications of basic Krav defenses, some are third party specific. With the exception of gun defense while mounted, I can’t think of a single gun defense that redirects the gun upwards. Even with that defense, it’s more of an angle. One of the absolutes in Krav Maga is that the weapon is controlled, it is very difficult to control a weapon that is above your head.