Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics PLEASE HELP ME!!! Kapap and Krav maga

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 30 total)
  • Author
    tri4ever65

Hi,
    i am new at Krav and wanted to know the differences between Kapap and Krav maga.

thank you

lotar

Kapap is totally different to Krav maga. You should try both out and see which you prefer. Having studied both systems Kapap is a clear choice by miles with me.
    Good luck with whatever you choose.

Craig

kravjeff

Disagree

While I have not studied other Israeli arts, I’d recommend reading this article by someone who has:

http://www.usadojo.com/articles/krav-maga-not-alone.htm

I’ve read in numerous places that Israeli arts are all very similar, and have evolved from one another.

clegane

Thanks for that link kravjeff, very informative!
    Being new to KM I too was wondering about these other martial arts that were coming up in topics.

kadima

Its amazing how many KM sites and practioners have embraced that article even though its historical accuracy is very weak and it was written to further Jim Wagners business interests.

kravjeff

Kadima –

Please, enlighten us … I’ve read very similar histories in other places as well …

I stated that I’d not studied other arts – This was the first article I found when I \”googled\” … I didn’t have it waiting in the wings for just such an occasion.

lotar

Hi Jeff

I have only studied the IKMF Krav Maga.there is a world of difference between IKMF and Kapap, one difference is in Kapap we take into account the attacker may know how to retain the handgun/ knife. Therefore making the IKMF defences for these situations lethal for the defender. As said earlier though people should try different systems and choose for themselves which is best.

Craig

kravjeff

Thanks Craig –

I wasn’t trying to be confrontational, and hope I didn’t come across that way. Just my understanding (from reading) that the systems are very similar.