Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    tandt

Hello all – I’m new to KM and loving every moment (well, there’s the odd moment where ‘love’ is replaced by ‘so tired’) but it’s been great so far.

My question relates to punching – when I punch I can feel my knuckles cracking and there’s a fair bit of pain in the top of my hands. The left is worse than the right (not that I have much of a left jab at this point anyway) and it’s frusterating.

I’m not sure if this is something that will improve with more punching, or if I’m doing something wrong – my knuckles were shredded after the first class so I’ve been using hand wraps, so I’m wondering if I’ve got too much wrap inside my fist?

Any thoughts and/or advice are welcome. Thanks very much and I look forward to participating on the forum.

cheers!

kravron

Welcome to the forum. Ok, to adress your question. First make sure to check with your instructor and have him watch you punch. He may have a few suggestions as to how you can prevent some these injuries. Odds are you are attempting to punch with your whole fist instead of adjusting your wrist to hit with the first two knuckles only. Hitting with your whole fist will cause you to hurt your lower portion of your hand resulting in Boxers Fractures a common injury in professional boxing.

As to tearing up the skin on your knuckles…this unfortunately is going to continue untill the skin on your knuckles thickens to prevent this. The only way to develop thicker skin on your knuckles is to keep punching. Even after your skin gets a bit thicker you will still notice you tear the skin sometimes. An unfortunate side effect to hitting things. You can do some things to help lessen how torn up your knuckles are by a) Wrapping your knuckles B) wearing MMA or boxing style gloves.

Hopefully this information will help you. Most people dont realize when they first start hitting things that you can actually damage your hands if not punching correctly.

g-v