Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums KM Techniques & Krav Maga Books question about gun defense

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    kravmaga-ism

ok guys, I’m still fairly new to KM and have yet to learn a gun defend, but after watching a ton of video clips on the subject I can’t help but wonder about the attacker pulling the trigger while the defend is doing his thing.

I saw couple of defense where the barrel of the gun is grabbed while a counter is applied to the attackers face, groin, etc. If I was the attacker and I see the counter coming, I would immediately start shooting (regardless of aim). The recoil of the semi-auto would surely loosen the grip the defender has on it. The only conclusion I came up with is that any gun technique needs to be applied quick enough so that the attacker does not have time to react to pulling the trigger. But we’re talking less than a second here.

Can someone enlighten this newb here? thanks!

jamesh-d30

In actuality, the gun defense is not racing the gunmans trigger finger speed, but the recognition that they should even pull the trigger. That, in conjunction with the actual decision making process and then the act of pulling the trigger usually ends up in the trigger not being pulled at all or well after a counter attack or two (it’s tested, constantly.)

Also, the recoil of even a .45 acp is a non issue (also tested, constantly), especially when you factor in the stress of a life and death struggle.

If you have a place where you can train in Krav Maga gun defenses with a qualified instructor, please ask them to show you how these apply.

kpalena