Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Recovering for next class

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    towani

Hello all.
    I have a few questions that I apologize if they have been covered but the words I used to search said they were too common. :dunno:
    My question begins with recovering for next class. I’m new to KM, and I’m finding that my prior martial arts did not keep me in the good shape I though I was in.
    My back is killing me, my elbows are beyond black and blue to a deep red, and my knuckles are all bloodied up (that’s using mma training gloves).
    I am wondering for my back, is it better to use a hot pack or cold pack?
    Also, for my elbow, are either of those useful. My elbow is numb atm, so it’s not pain related.
    As for my knuckles, I’m guessing that as I build up caluses and break in the gloves the bloody look will go away.
    During the day I work at a professional place that having my hands and elbows look like they do isn’t a good thing. :combat:
    I appreciate any feedback!!

jjbklb

Re: Recovering for next class

Cold packs for recent injuries,both for back & elbows.
    Take a few minutes before & after class to stretch out your back.
    are you taking any aspirin-type analgesics that would increase the bruising?

saruotoko

Hi Towani.

Ice then hot, for the first day. After that, heat only, and for 20 minutes at a time. (Just got that from the Red Cross at cert. class)

I’d also ditch the gloves for hand-wraps. The leather on the inside of the gloves can turn your hands into ground-beef on the best of days. As for your elbows looking that way….wear long-sleeves for now? 🙂

Welcome to Krav!

Mario

towani

Thanks guys for the info. I don’t take any asprin like stuff. I think I was just going 100% at it and as a result the bag won?!?
    As for the gloves, I was thinking about the handwraps. D’oh, I wish I would have asked before I bought them 🙁

saruotoko

quote towani: