Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics seeking advice about a local gym

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    legacy

Hello every. I came to this site because I’m new to krav maga and wondering about the authenticity of my current place of training. I realize this isn’t the proper place to post this but seeing as I don’t have access to that place after registering I figured I’d give it a shot here.

My current training place http://krav.pro/ doesn’t seem to use a Level 1-5 system like most places I read about. They have 3 levels from what I can tell. basic, BBT1 (blackbelt training 1) and BB2 (blackbelt training 2).

So far basic just consists of exercises followed by a few combative strikes on mats. I don’t have a problem with what I’ve learned so far or how I’ve learned it. I’ve been attending for roughly 6 weeks.

The instructor said that after 6 months I could move to bb1. This is what concerns me… I didn’t take up krav maga to “earn a belt”. 6 months of training to black belt training seems odd from what I’ve red? I feel like we skipped a few colors(and possibly lessons/practice).

Once again sorry for posting this here but if I had access to the other part I would have posted there. Hopefully i can get an answer before it gets deleted.

Thanks!

kmyoshi

Re: seeking advice about a local gym

It sounds really strange to me that there would only be a basic class and than jump to “black belt training.” I would understand if there was a basic and then intermediate/advanced class as some schools only have a few Krav classes a day. Did the instructor say you would be testing to get a [black] belt? How do you like your training so far? Have you compared it to any Krav training videos on Youtube? Do you have any other Krav facilities in your area to try out and compare?