Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author

I’m a complete novice, havent’ even achieved a level one rating yet, and having a hard time getting the technique down for side kicks (knee and thigh level only).
    My instructors have advised stepping forward with the lead foot at a 90 degree angle and then following through with the side kick, but my hips just won’t rotate the way they should, so I don’t have as much power in the snap as I want.
    Anyone else have this issue and how did you resolve it?

giant-killer

Re: Side kicks

Side kicks can be tricky and it may take a while to get them right. Nothing to worry about. Just think of a side kick as a stomp, but sideways rather than straight down. Do them slowly, even holding on to the wall for balance, just to understand the motion. Then lift your leg with your knee bent (as you would for front kick) and “stomp” to the side. Hit a low target first. If you are not very flexible, you may have to lean over to the opposite side to reach a higher target. Just let the teacher show you the motion and then do it slowly until you get it, then speed it up and go for more power.

sip

I find the best way to improve side kick technique is to train from a neutral stance. left the kicking leg straight up, and pivot on the opposite foot as you extend the side kick. This means that if you’re kicking with the right leg, your left heel should ideally by pointed in the direction of the kick on full extension/impact.

sip

That’s LIFT the kicking leg, and the heel should ideally BE pointed in the direction of the kick. Sorry about the typos.

jay99

Nickolas, I have read your post over a few times and I get the strong feeling you are describing a round kick as opposed to a side kick. Is that the case?

craig-p

Nice pick up Jamie thumbsup. Bet your right!

Jay, yes.
    Sorry. That’s what I meant.

leejam99

There are 3 major components to good round kick.