Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Staying in Krav Maga worthy shape without Krav Maga

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author
    lb

Hi All!
    So I’m a Level 2 student, but I’ve been on Krav Maga leave for six months now as I am currently in Israel until the end of May on a 9 month program. Unfortunately I havent been able to keep up Krav since I’ve been here and have not kept up the shape I had been in before. When I get back I plan on resuming, however only a month later will I be going to work at a sleepaway camp. So assuming I go everyday and get back into decent shape (I’m a small guy and it doesnt take much), without a punching bag, an instructor leading a class, or any real equipment, what exactly would one do to stay in equivalent shape? This could also apply to my current situation here in Israel. Of course, there’s jogging, crunches, push-ups, curls (with a backpack perhaps if dumbells are not available), but I feel like to be in shape for something like Krav is different from just being in shape in terms of muscles etc. I could be wrong but that’s just what I feel as of now. So my question is, and I’m sorry if it’s an ignorant one, btu what specifically can I do and a possible regimen to stay in decent shape while I’m at camp and coming to Krav once a week on days off?
    Thanks!
    Loren

mara-jade

Re: Staying in Krav Maga worthy shape without Krav Maga

Hi Loren!

Wow, you’re gonna be a busy beaver I see. You’ve listed activities you can do so you’re not totally out.

Can you take any kind of equipment with you? I ask because you might want to consider doing kettlebells. It’s Russian strength training that’s a blast to do. It used to be really hard to find them except online but I know Rebok now makes them – I’ve seen military bases exchanges carry them.

Here’s what I’m talking about
    http://www.sport-fitness-advisor.com/kettlebell-exercises.html