Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

i’ve heard and read mixed opinions on krav maga in terms of being too commercialized and milked because of the hype. while it’s true with most martial arts, how do i differentiate a real deal school for a waterdown one? i’m willing to invest my time and money but not waste it… i don’t have a lot of both.

how would i know if the instructor is actually good and what questions should i ask him to find out? please keep in mind that i’m new at this and have had no previous experience with any forms of martial arts. i’m serious about the course and really want to learn… not to finish the course and move up a level ‘just because’.

if it makes any difference, the class i’m planning to join is located in toronto, ontario, canada.

andre

You are always the ultimate judge if a class and school is good for you. Take a couple free intro classes, assuming that they have one. Does the instructor sound like he knows the material? Does the stuff he teaches in class look like its good for self-defense? Have they been there at the school for a while?

wim

I think the best thing that you can do is to talk to some of the students. Most importantly, talk to students you feel might be looking to get the same thing out of the class that you are (i.e. if you desire to be a tough guy, find the tough guys). It really takes months to get a feel for what a school is all about. Intro classes can only give you a very superficial insight.

andre

The problem with depending on students to make the decision is because if they are there, they probably like what their doing and think the instructor is the best thing since sliced bread. Or the opposite, somebody that is almost disgruntled(even if no fault of the instructor)is only their becuase they have to pay on the contract so they figure they might as well go.

Asking students isn’t bad, but it shouldn’t be the foundation of the decision.

topitbull

Hey Man,

I’m in Toronto as well.