Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Tips for attacking/defending and breathing.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    karnos

Hello guys, new member here, from Mexico thumbsup

I started training Krav Maga here since last August, with no previous knowledge in any other form of defense/martial art; needless to say the first weeks were horrible, but now I am under a much better physical condition.

However, I am having a very rough time attacking and breathing; I get taxed very quick after a burst of attacks. Now, I know that the first red light is that I need to train even more on this, which I’m doing every day at home, but my real question is what can I do to improve this?

I know that what many people do is release air after impact and breath when retreating, and that’s what I do, but I don’t see much improvements, though.

Any tips, exercises, etc will be REALLY appreciated.

Thanks!

kirsten

Re: Tips for attacking/defending and breathing.

Hmm… yes more cardio would obviously be helpful, your right on that and it will come in time. But you probably should be breathing out while your attacking and not holding your breath and breathing after… that is probably what is making it even worse. Hang in there, keep pushing yourself and above all else- give yourself some credit AND some time. Your just starting. Good luck!

magamike

The thing that helped me was the Bas Rutten Mixed Martial Arts workout CDs. It is really improving my anaerobic fitness, and you see endurance gains very quickly. If you haven’t tried them, it’s a fairly low cost investment that produces a big fitness return that is directly applicable to Krav training.