Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    chuck-dugan

Hi all, is there anyone here who started KM without any form of martial arts training or fairly low fitness? I actually signed up for a session in London, UK about six years ago but moved to Canada and it slipped from my mind. Now the Wife & I are looking to start, but i’m not exactly the fittest i’ve been, and I do find it a little intimidating when I think about going, although I also get pretty excited. So, yeah, anyone else like me? or were you all trained killers :D:

Chuck

kior

Re: Total Noob

I started without any MA background and wasn’t in the best shape, loads of people are the same. Krav’s military background means it emphasises getting you to a high level of proficiency and fitness as quickly as possible.

chuck-dugan

Thanks Kior, i’ll be signing up this week, i’ll be sure to post my experience too.

I see lots of people start training in KM from a background of no or little MA training & low fitness levels and its amazing to see the difference even with a few months of regular training. As mentioned KM was designed to get military recruits up to speed in a short amount of time. Everybody has to start somewhere. It is intimidating for many people at first – especially overcoming the fitness & stamina challenges. Just keep at it & know that the first level in KM is actually the most important as this is where you learn the basics which form the the building blocks for everything else in the system.