Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    kravmdjeff

How important is this in training self-protection/self-defense? For students on the forum, do you feel equipped to use your voice as a tool in self-defense, or are you unsure about this area of your training? For instructors, what drills or concepts have you used to increase your students’ ability to avoid a fight where possible using verbalization, or gain the upper hand in another way?

g-v

I haven’t studied anything like that in krav, but I’ve had some real life experience with cooling off a situtation before a fight breaks out, if that’s what you mean.

roger

verbal de-escalation

Jeff,

This is Roger, I joined Columbia Krav but haven’t been for a couple of weeks due to training at work. I use de-escalation almost every night in my job as a Corrections Officer. One of the main \”weapons\” in de-escalation is your tone of voice. If you have a calm tone of voice the other person will actually come down to your tone. If you start trying to talk over the other person you have a problem brewing. You do need to stand firm and maintain eye contact. This way you appear calm, cool and collected.

Roger

vicious

there are tons of great resources out there for de-escalation… geoff thompson’s stuff is great (duh)… i personally love his fence work/pre-emptive strike work… i understand why it wouldn’t be in krav (considering the desire to work worst case first [eyes closed, complete surprise], and coming from a military background where de-escalation is in the form of brandishing a firearm….

i would hope for it (meaning fence/interview stance work) to be added some time in the future… who knows?

anonymous