Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums Personal Gear Discussion Weak kicking technique

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    seraphs-coal

Greetings all,

As a novice Krav student I am finding that I am beginning to get some of the techniques down but feel that my kicks lack any real power. Admittingly at this stage my concern has been more to make sure the technique is correct, but I do feel that I am not getting the power in the kicks that I would like. Just wondering if anyone else has had this problem and what your experience was in solving it? Is Weight training the calves and other leg muscles likely to make any difference?

Re: Weak kicking technique

Hello Seraphs

Are you working with an instructor our studying on your own? I find many people lack power initially due to not pushing their hips forward when kicking. As far as weight training I would suggest focusing more on your core. most of the power in your punches, knee strikes, and kicks generate a lot of power from the core.

Train hard and be safe,

seraphs-coal

Cheers mate,

I am working with an instructor in group training, I brought this up during our class and it was suggested that its important that the other knee be locked in place correctly and that the technique comes over time, suffice to say I already feel that its improving a little. I think you have it in one when you suggest that its the core training that is where its at, that is good advice and I will be taking that on board!

orange-age