Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics What is the true standard of KMG?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 15 total)
  • Author
    carl

Hi guys,

I wanted to canvass opinion on this site I just found: http://whatiskravmaga.webs.com

In it the author states that some of the most well-known federations (e.g. KMG) are led by instructors (e.g. Yanilov) who make a lot of mistakes, and generally put profit before skill advancement. He describes KMG as teaching ‘Fitness Krav Maga’, with a ‘Hit and Run’ style’.

I’m a KMG student, and while I’m not particularly concerned as my instructor is excellent and I am only at their P1 level, I am interested in hearing your thoughts on the views expressed in this site, especially about KMG. What kind of reputation does KMG have? Do you agree with what he says about YOUR federation? Are his Hall of Famers justified, or just biased opinion? If a ‘Hit and Run’ style is undesirable, what other styles exist?

Thanks in advance for any replies

kevinmack

Re: What is the true standard of KMG?

Without reading the site I can say that Eyal Yanilov is one the most knowledgable Krav Maga instructors in the world. He has trained in KM for over 30 years and one of Imi’s top students who was put in charge of training instructors very early on. He was the secondary instructor if not the main instructor of many of the top names in KM. He is a living encyclopedia of Krav Maga knowledge. I had a list of the top Krav Maga instructors who I have always wanted to train with at least once in my life and over the past 4 years I have managed to scratch off most of them. Eyal was at the top of that list. So if you have the chance to train with him…go ahead and do it.

That being said…I don’t know how he runs his business,personal affairs or his standards of instructor training these days.