Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums KM Techniques & Krav Maga Books Which knuckles to hit with?

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    jaretjenkins

I’m new to Krav and have been wondering which knuckles does Krav prefer to hit with. I’ve seen a couple of posts saying to use the index and middle, just the middle, or middle and ring. My instructor says to use the first and make sure the index knuckle is in line with the crook of the elbow.

thanks

giant-killer

We always hit with the first two knuckles.

mike-g

The Index and Middle finger knuckles.

kmcat

Index and Middle like the other say.

It was explained to me that if you hit with a more traditional boxer’s style you are hitting with more of the other fingers (middle to pinky). By doing that you are highly likely to break the pinky finger. This is a common bone break for traditional boxing strikes.

The top two fingers (index and middle) are more structurally stronger than the others.

You can also use the palm strike which is very strong even less likely to break, but has a slightly shorter reach.

kravjeff

Re:

[quote=\”KMCat\”]The top two fingers (index and middle) are more structurally stronger than the others.quote]

Agree, and would add: if aligned properly (i.e. your wrist isn’t bent) the bones of the hand (including the knuckles) are in line with the bones of the forearm, maximizing force, and protection against injury.

Also agree that plam heel strikes are a more than viable option.

FWIW – I had (and still have if I don’t train for a time) a tough time striking with the \”proper\” knuckles. I was taught that striking without your fist being at a 90 degree angle to the floor upon impact, will help to align hand and arm, and you’ll \”always\” strike with the correct knuckles. Worked wonders for me.