Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 18 total)
  • Author
    reaper1

I was punching a heavy bag yesterday and it felt like my punches were weak and my wrist buckled so i put it down to i have weak wrists.
    Just wondering what you guys do to strengthen your wrists?

hm2pac

Re: Wrist strength

Welcome Reaper1, I’m a newbie here myself, but I have a bit of experience that I can share.

First off you need to start with having a healthy set of wrists. I don’t say this in jest. Do your wrists regularly buckle, fold, or give out when your are using your hands for anything? If you have any ongoing wrist /health problems, you’ll want to get them checked out before committing to any exercise program.

You’ll probably find that many people will recommend wrist wraps and proper gloves when punching a bag. Proper mechanics will also help. Make sure you are landing with the knuckles of your index and middle fingers and that your wrist is straight.

Rolling your shoulder over and bringing it up to the side of your ear as you make contact will also help with a number of things:

1. The side of your head is protected
    2. Your fist rolls over and the index/middle knuckles are pushed ahead of the little/ring knuckles.
    3. Power.

Now…..on to your question of wrist strengthening.

I recommend anything that works your forearm and grip.

Wrist curls and extensions are OK. Pull-Ups will give you a very strong grip.

For keeping the wrist straight I recommend Push-Ups on your fingertips, or on fists. This allows your wrist to work a load while maintaining alignment.

Just my 2 cents…..you should be getting a lot of good advice on this board.

reaper1

Thanks HM2PAC
    My wrists are healthy I’m new to Krav so i think it’s my technique, i’m not use to using a vertical fist. I use to do push ups on my fists but haven’t done them for a while i’ll start doing them again and see if that helps.
    Cheers for the help mate

hm2pac

Glad I could be of some help.

kirsten