Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    runnergirl

I’ve been taking Krav twice a week (sometimes 3, sometimes 1) for about 9 months. I do pushups on my knuckles on hard surfaces every day, and I think my wrists are waaaaay stronger than when I started.

But lately (last 3 weeks) when we do a lot of punching, and I go 100% my fingers get numb. I also started getting wrist pain the next day, which was exacerbated by a day of whitewhater kayaking, and writing a lot. (I’m a grad student). I’m very careful with technique and have had my instructor watch to see if that’s the problem.

I know wrist wrapping is \”wimpy\” but what should I do? Should I not hit as hard, or are wraps a good idea? If so, where should I get them?

Thanks!

klem

Wraps

I personally like to avoid wraps because I don’t want to become dependent on them and obviously in the street you won’t have a chance to put them on in the event of a confrontation.

On the other hand (no pun intended), if you are punching all out and/or punching alot, then it might be wise to use wraps part of the time. Punching heavy bags and focus mits can cause alot of stress on your hands and wrists. Conditioning can help but wear and tear will eventually have an effect. There is a reason why boxers use wraps and bag gloves in training. Make sure you learn the proper way to put on hand wraps.

You can get wraps at most sporting good stores. if you have a choice find some Mexican style wraps or the professional wraps by Everlast. They tend to be longer and have a strechable material.

kurtuan