Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums Personal Gear Discussion Advice on Heavy Bag @ Home for Training?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 38 total)
  • Author

I’ve been taking KM about two months now in Charlotte and love it so far. I go 2-3 times/week, but would like to practice as much as I can on my own when away from class. I’m considering getting a heavy bag to use at home for punches/kicks, but not sure about what weight to buy, style, etc. Does anyone have advice?

Right now, I don’t use wraps in class and I’ve been fine. Went to the local YMCA recently to practice punching on the heavy bag, only to tear up my knuckles up nicely. I won’t be that stupid again and purchased some 16 ounce gloves that arrive today. Am I supposed to wear wraps under the gloves each time I practice on the heavy bag? I’ve read where wraps will help keep the wrist firm and possibily prevent injury, but I’m wondering if taking 5-10 minutes out of my limited gym time at lunch to wrap (I’m a newbie and not used to wrapping yet) is really necessary. Maybe I’m being ridiculous. Any advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Re: Advice on Heavy Bag @ Home for Training?

Get a 50-70ib bag, make sure you have a good place to hang it up at. Do you go home for your gym time? Either way, I’d use wraps. You can buy some of the “wrap gloves” by Everlast, but I can’t comment on how useful they are because I’ve never used them.

bear34

http://www.amazon.com/Combat-Sports-Sparring-Red-Black-Regular/dp/B006K42QOI/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1344032054&sr=8-4&keywords=combat+sparring+gloves

Try these. Protect knuckles and have great wrist support. No need for wraps.

don

Some factors to consider when buying a heavy bag:
    1. how much you want to spend
    2. how heavy you need (e.g. how big you are, how hard you punch/kick, etc)
    3. how much space you have
    4. do you prefer swinging or free-standing
    5. how/where will you mount/support it