Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Bas breaking down Krav gun defenses.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    la-revancha

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_8mloYngyg

Ryan, Oneness or Brent: you should mention adding the counter next time you see him. I’M not gonna do it!

iraszl

Re: Bas breaking down Krav gun defenses.

Hope you don’t mind I reposted it here: http://www.kravstation.com/video/video/show?id=1275714%3AVideo%3A4342

I’m glad this video doesn’t show that false technique I’ve seen on YouTube somewhere where you grab the gun with both hands and try to point it upwards.

scholl34

Grabbing the gun with two hands is not a false technique. There are different ways to perform gun defenses and even Krav Maga has several. I am a former teacher in Philadelphia and I can tell you that there are several Krav Maga techniques that involve grabbing the gun with two hands. One is an older technique that is rarely taught anymore unless the gun is extremely high (head level or higher) and the second is just a different way of performing gun from the front which involves controling the weapon with both hands while simultaneously performing a groin kick and then taking the weapon away. Its important to realize that there are many different ways to accomplish the same objective and I have not seen the video you are referring to but generally speaking there are no false techniques. Just techniques that work better or worse than others.

iraszl

I understand, but from what I heard from my instructor that technique you describe is dangerous, because the attacked can easily pull back on his gun and will shoot you. Then again, I’m just a beginner, so I listen to what I’m told.

giant-killer

Bas’ gun from the back looks a bit sloppy, he turns and steps with his left foot instead of with his right.

cmetalman

I was taught that if the gun is off center of your back and closer to the left of the back