Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 27 total)
  • Author

Music really keeps me going during Krav. Anyone recommend any good Goa trance? I believe Goa originated in Israel too.

g-v

Re: Goa Trance

In my krav class, it’s techno…lots’a lots’a techno. Oh, and Godsmack. Lots’a Godsmack. Someone should mix that up and create Godsmack techno.

kravmdjeff

I’m a musician, so music is really important to me.

We play lots of hardcore, metal, rock. No techno. I don’t want people to think about attacks happening in a rhythmic pattern…plus it further dissociates Krav Maga training with an aerobics routine.

Lots of times my students tell me that they would rather have other music playing. But if the music is, well, unsettling, then I think it benefits training more.

I once put a Barry Manilow ballad on during a really aggressive drill just to throw them off and distract them. It worked. Teaching point: environment/surroundings will not always be indicative of danger/threat.

philst

We tend to play stuff along the lines of Marilyn Manson / Static X during drills which is good for helping create the \”stress\” environment. In fact I was completely thrown yesterday when my instructor played a techno style track.

I’ve never trained to Barry Manilow style stuff, how big an effect does it tend to have on your mindset?

g-v

Re:

quote \”KravMDjeff\:

I once put a Barry Manilow ballad on during a really aggressive drill just to throw them off and distract them. It worked. Teaching point: environment/surroundings will not always be indicative of danger/threat.

Ya know, that’s a good point.

kravmdjeff

Phil…it threw them for a loop to say the least. I got into my drill instructor mode and got them all fired up…and then let them loose to some soothing crap.

They all thought it was funny and was like \”what the heck is this crap?\”

But, had it been a real situation, they would have had a few seconds tacked on to their response time. Crucial seconds, as many of you know.