Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Increasing Flexibilty

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    kmman

Aside from good old fashioned stretching, are there any supplements that may help flexibility?

peterako

Re: Increasing Flexibilty

In class we do kicks which work well for stretching.

The first is where you bring your rear leg straight up in front of you, keeping your leg as straight as possible. The other is a crescent kick.

Hope that gives you a different perspective, though I’m not sure if anything is really better than just stretching it out.

mara-jade

I’ve heard a few of my instructors say Yoga is excellent for increasing flexibility.

kmman

Anything on the vitamin/mineral end like Chondroitin type products (which I think is for joints).

tech94

there are no magic pills for flexibility. im a registered nurse and i can tell you that most supplements are either completely useless and a waste of money while some are actually very dangerous and do far more harm than good. ephedra is 1 that killed far too many before it was banned. the supplements dont have nearly enough concentration to be effective in some cases as well. i have taken care of about 3 or 4 people in ICU that have suffered liver and/or kidney damage as a result of some herbal supplements as well

I’d be curious to hear strategies and techniques to increase flexibility…

The instructor in our group introduced ‘PNF’ stretching to the training sessions – we do a version of the flex-hold one from time to time:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PNF_stretching

On another note: I thought glucosamine & chondroitin are supplements which are alleged to increase cartilage in human joints (?)

http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/chondroitin-sulfate/NS_patient-chondroitin