Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Knowledge Transfer to family?

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author

My wife and son are eager to learn what I have been learning in class.

However, they are unable to attend the classes due to geographic location and time. I travel very far to get to work and luckily there are Krav classes here..but there are none down there.

There are other reasons why they won’t be able to attend a class.

This is not have them “pull themselves up by their bootstraps type of situation” either.

Money is not the issue either.

I asked this question on a martial arts forum when I was taking Hapkido and I was given some legitimate reasoning as to why I might not want to transfer knowledge e.g. incorrect technique being taught and teaching them bad habits.

I strongly disagreed, but agreed to disagree.

Do you think I could transfer knowledge. I am not a pro yet, but I am developing good habits not bad ones.

Any thoughts?

Thank you for your time!

kmman

Re: Knowledge Transfer to family?

There is nothing that can replace a quality instructor. I would be concerned about safety etc.

This is just my opinion, but you can try http://www.kravmagabootcamp.com which is real good online stuff. It cant replace a live instructor but it does confirm much of whats being taught in your class.

Just my 2c.

kmman

Let me add that theres just no way you can replace a live instructors corrections to your mistakes, the intensity, the extra push you need with online stuff.

Another thing you can do is by the Complete Krav Maga book and use as a reference.

quote KMMAN:

Let me add that theres just no way you can replace a live instructors corrections to your mistakes, the intensity, the extra push you need with online stuff.

Another thing you can do is by the Complete Krav Maga book and use as a reference.

Thank you for your thoughts.