Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Looking for your favorite drills

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 28 total)
  • Author
    phlegmon27

Hey boys and girls,
    I am a newbie instructor, and would love to hear some of your favorite drills. They can be striking, self defense, stress, cardio, whatever. I want to start bringing some fresh stuff into our school to shake it up a bit.

Thanks in advance,
    Philthumbsup

happyloaf

Re: Looking for your favorite drills

One that we do that is killer is a drill to train the idea of aggressiveness and moving forward. One student holes a tombstone pad and is the “target”. A second student holds a body shield and is there to protect the target by bumping and blocking. The third student is the attacker and is trying to hit the target but he cannot hit the student with the body shield. This one is a killer. After a min. I’m dead.

jonj480

Another variation of that same theme is the “target” holds the punch shield, the “striker” starts about 7-10 feet away. A third person holds a belt around the striker’s waist. When the drill begins, the striker tries to get to the target while the other person is pulling them back with the belt.

We usually do this one with the music blaring and the lights off, it is a killer. Makes your legs feel like jello….

phlegmon27

Thanks guys. This is exactly the type of stuff I’m looking for. Keep it up!

sdkraver

My favorite is the “circle” drill, usually done with full contact and sparring gear. We do it with the intermediate class, our beginners don’t spar until around 6 months in the system.

Class is broken up into groups of ~10, with students asked to separate themselves into “heavy” or “light” contact preference.

Everyone in the circle picks a number, then a defender steps in the middle and gets ready to fight. It helps if the defender closes their eyes and the groups shuffles a bit before starting so the attackers aren’t in numerical order.