Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums Welcome Forums New Guy w/ Question After 1st Class

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 19 total)
  • Author
    focus

Hey all – I’m new to martial arts other than a few months of TKD as a kid. I had my 1st Krav class earlier this week. I can honestly say it was the most intense workout I’ve ever had. I definitely wasn’t prepared having missed lunch that afternoon. Never will I make that mistake again. I know that diet is a huge part of fitness and I’m working on it.

It’s been a few days after my 1st class and it seems like I’m getting more and more sore as the days progress. My question is -what can I do to help speed up my recovery time? Would stretching on my off days help? Massage? I know I need to hydrate and eat a good meal 3-4 hours before a session but any other tips would help. I never considered myself in “bad shape” but after that 1st class I’m starting to think otherwise. Anyway, I’m pumped to get back to my next class. Any tips would be great.

jburtonpdx

Re: New Guy w/ Question After 1st Class

buildup of lactic acid sucks…. It kinda hurts.

Blood flow is what you need – warm up good and get another workout in. Some light stretching might help it all feel a bit better as well. Dont just sit on your backside though, get out and moving.

kvmorl

I had same issue when i started, stretching and chaning my multivitamine to ‘Activite’ by mhp improved it greatly…

mara-jade

Hi Focus,

Wanted to welcome you to the forum. Sounds like you had an interesting first class:rolleyes:

For me and hubby,we will NOT go to class without eating dinner. We eat like 2 hours before class so that’s plenty of time for food to settle. As for soreness, I typically don’t feel it till the day after. If it’s REALLY bad, I MIGHT take something like Bayer Back & Body, but I don’t make that a habit. The next day after that no problem.