Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Press, Media & Journalism

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 26 total)
  • Author
    mrwright

I would like to start a forum for those who place themselves in harms way in the name of journalism and other dangerous but non-combative jobs. We exist in a gray area between civilian and police (and even sometimes military) when it comes to the situations we are exposed to. The press also has the added disadvantage of being saddled with expensive, often cumbersome equipment!

It is my belief that we could benefit from our own specially tailored training program. I was a press photographer during the G20 in Pittsburgh, PA. and delt with police OC gassing as well as embittered protesters who considered us targets for their anger.

We were infact attacked by two very angry, very drunk protesters who pinned a partner I was with and began beating him while shouting anti goverenment slogans. It is at that point I realized the press not only needs to protect themselves they need to defend their fellow journalists!
    I hope others in the media see this thread and collectively express their needs! I am also hoping Krav Maga Worldwide sees this and is inspired to create a Krav Press Program.

Thank you all and safe reporting!

I have also posted photographes from a few stories I have covered incluiding G20, LA Fitness Homicides, and a fire in Bridgeville, PA. These hopefully illustrate some of the situations the Press faces.

Attachments:

donjon
    Blocked

Re: Press, Media & Journalism

yes it is very good informative post lovely

sicpuppy

quote MrWright:

I would like to start a forum for those who place themselves in harms way in the name of journalism and other dangerous but non-combative jobs. We exist in a gray area between civilian and police (and even sometimes military) when it comes to the situations we are exposed to..

Uhhh… No, I am sorry but there is no grey area. Media are civilians.