Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Question about Krav Maga

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 17 total)
  • Author
    glassjoe4

I was just wondering if Krav Maga teaches any submission holds or chokes. I have the tape set and the books and am planning on training after I graduate college this spring. It looks like an awesome martial art but it didn’t talk about submissions at all. I always wanted to learn how to make someone tap like in BJJ or UFC. If anyone could answer my question I would really appreciate it. Thanks
    Joey

eddie-c

I’m kinda new to KM but my response would be that if you want to \”learn how to make someone tap like BJJ or UFC\” then take BJJ because you are completely missing the intention of what KM is all about.

My advice to you, prior to entering KM or any other martial training, is to sit down with an instructor and understand the history and philosophy of the style. Why does it exist. Then make your decision and go from there.

Someone more experienced in KM can feel free to educate me if my understanding is incorrect.

taikei

reality oriented

Submission based on real situations, yes. Arm bar is being taught but quoted \”Not recommended to fight on the ground with opponent\”. Or may someone else kick your head while submitting one. Most submission techniques that I know has to be on ground.

Otherwise break a finger, shoulder joint just enough to neutralize threat. Krav Maga complimenting with BJJ(or other submission arts) to me, is a good combination.

I can’t see much of a historical approach related to submission/choke techniques in KM, however I learned it takes 1 round (3 to 5 minutes) to arm bar a skilled opponent. Even this doesn’t happen very often.
    I don’t see myself submitting an assailant in a matter of 5, 10 seconds time span, and KM is about neutralizing threat within seconds.

simhamukha