Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Quick question – timeline for belts/levels

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    mr-mossad

I had a qucik question about the expected timeline for earning belts/levels for krav maga. the website specifies for level one it takes approximatley 4 months, 6 months for level 2, 9 for level 3, etc etc.

my question is: are these timelines concurrent or back to back? for example, say i start on day one, and complete level 1 in 4 months with 2-3 days of trining per week…would it take an ADDITIONAL 6 months to train and test for level 2? in other words, would it take 10 months TOTAL from day one to test/earn level 2? or 6 months TOTAL from day one to test/earn level 2?

i know this is novice question, but i am a novice guy. thanks!

mara-jade

Re: Quick question – timeline for belts/levels

Welcome to the forum,

There are no hard or fast rules on when you’re ready to get your belt. The ones stated are guidelines, nothing more. Everyone learns at a different pace, some learn faster than others, some can take more classes than others etc. Also, life gets in the way sometimes.

Hubby and I got our level 1 belt in 3 months, level 2 in 6 but level 3 took a few years due to life getting in the way. Enjoy the journey then worry about a belt. I speak from experience:wav:

unstpabl1

Its one of those questions that everybody wonders about, no matter if they’ll admit it or not. If you were in a belt focused school they would push you too test approx. every 3 months. Why because they charge for the tests and its day off from teaching as well as added income. Now I understand the concept and we suck into it because we want to kick azz, take names and get the girl or in krav’s case,ladies ,save the cute boy:woohoo: