Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 21 total)
  • Author
    infosec

I made an intro thread, but not many people are in that section. Tomorrow is my first class and I am very excited. I have no background when it comes to training in any martial art, so I am wondering what I will encounter in my first session and what I should keep in mind while I am there to help me really take in this experience.

Thanks for the help!

-Dave

mdeaneuscg

Re: What to expect?

Just go in with an open mind, and a no quit attitude. Expect to be challenged physically, emotionally, and psychologically. Bring a bottle of water and a towel. Level 1 classes are largely conditioning and foundational work for the later levels. Conditioning doesn’t just refer to physically though. A large part of Krav Maga is the mentality and attitude. If you are expecting a calm experience, you won’t find it. Aggression (controlled of course) is encouraged, and you will be pushed out of your comfort zone at least once. This is done to heighten your stress levels, to give some preparation to the levels of stress you will experience if you are ever the victim of a violent attack

infosec

quote MDeaneUSCG:

Just go in with an open mind, and a no quit attitude. Expect to be challenged physically, emotionally, and psychologically. Bring a bottle of water and a towel. Level 1 classes are largely conditioning and foundational work for the later levels. Conditioning doesn’t just refer to physically though. A large part of Krav Maga is the mentality and attitude. If you are expecting a calm experience, you won’t find it. Aggression (controlled of course) is encouraged, and you will be pushed out of your comfort zone at least once.

Ok will do, thanks tons for the input. I love fighting and I have no problem with being aggressive. I will make sure to post tomorrow night what happened at my class!

don