Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    brotherobin

What were your personal reasons for taking up self defense/hand to hand combat training… more specifically, Krav Maga?

lor

I’ve been on the receiving end of inappropriate, aggressive behavior and realized how helpless I was. For this reason, I insist my girls learn self defense. And I can’t ask them to do something I won’t.

I chose Krav because it seemed practical. I don’t want to compete in sparring contests, I don’t want to perform katas. I want to hurt the next guy who thinks he can force himself on me. Krav addresses this nicely.

jl

why

Bro,

Accountants……thats my reason(I work in finance). They were pissin’ me off a couple years back and my spouse said I needed a place to dissplell my agitation.LOL 😀

Well, the reason was it’s no nonsense emphasis on SD. That and I like working out with LEO’s and Feds. Where else can you go and get a shot in on a LEO w/o getting tasered. 😈

The teachings of KM fit my personal beliefs. This is the real reason!!!!

konrad109

I remember watching my mentally ill older brother getting kicked while he was on the ground by this huge guy who was always pickin on him. I was maybe 10 years old, and I remember wanting to pick up the rock that was right infront of me and chucking it at the guy. But I couldn’t, I was completely frozen. THat powerlessness was one of the worst feelings I have ever felt. This was after we came to the states.

In Poland I grew up with a good deal of violence, where it was a lot more common but also a lot \”friendlier.\” If people had a disagreement they would fight it out untill they get tired or somebody got a bloody nose and then call it quits. You would probably end up being better friends after the fight than before. In Chicago there was a much bigger gang mentality and it was much more vicious. If you had a problem with one kid you would have to get through 4. And they wouldn’t let you bow out gracefully if you lost either.