Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 22 total)
  • Author
    hollywood

I’ve been training krav maga and brazilian jiu jitsu for about 11 months now. I do bjj on mondays and wednesday for about an hour and krav on tuesdays and thursdays for about two hours. I grew up playing sports and have lifted weights since about the age of 13;I’m 26 by the way. I get a great workout from both arts but I would really like to do some weight lifting too. I was thinking a more fighting specific lifting; higher reps and more full body movement lifts. What I really needed advise on is with my schedule what days, how often, and what lifts to do. Oh yeah, I really wouldn’t be able to do the morning lifting being I get back from training at 9pm and leave for work at 6am; i gotta sleep:).Any advise would be appreciatied. Thanks

johnl-d11

I pretty much do the same arts (KM and BJJ).. I stick with those on Mon-Wed-Thur-Sat. Krav on Mon-Thur, BJJ on the other 2 days… On Tuesdays and Fridays, I will do interval cardio at the gym (or golf if its nice out. 😀 ) and full body lifts. Deadlifts, Squats, chin ups, clean/jerk, thrusters. We also get creative at our school, like pushing cars, sprinting back to do a weight exercise, repeat 3-4 times. But I don’t do high reps, I try to go as heavy as possible and get as many reps as I can.

kravjeff

Must be nice to be able to dedicate that much time to training!!! You must be signgle … 🙂

johnl-d11

Nope, but my wife gets home about the same time I do, plus she works saturdays.. Gotta love a hairdressers schedule. 😀

la-revancha

Search funciton will set you free!

Strength/conditioning/tough fun: Crossfit. Garddawg is a KM/CF instructor on this forum, he can fill you in. Crossfit got me in shape for my krav black belt test earlier this year (thanks to CFDC!!). When done correctly, a full CF debilitating workout takes less than a half hour. BJ Penn and John Hackleman (Chuck Liddell’s trainer) are big advocates as well.