Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Can’t get pass the white belt level and now I can’t sleep

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 59 total)
  • Author
    crash20

Ok this is embarrassing it should not be but it is. I have never been athletic and so never really concerned with looking like an idiot because I can’t do something physical that your average person my size would normally be able to do. However I started training almost six months ago because I decided living in NYC it was time even at 55 to learn to defend myself. This was a hard step for me to take and I’m proud of it. I was doing ok at least better than I thought I would. I have been getting my fair share of claps on the back followed by the words good or told to my face that, that strike sucked you are not listening, etc. I have looked in on the next level classes gone to look at the workshops and so on and found them motivating. At this point I’ve been doing it long enough to watch most of the guys I started with move on to the yellow belt level. I am now starting to see people that have started after me move to the yellow belt level. Seeing these people move on has made me realize that I want more so I stupidly signed up for a yellow belt workshop and started working on all the moves. The day came up and even though from what I could tell I was the longest practicing white belt there I didn’t get past the first section of strikes before I was told I am not ready to test. I have not had a full nights sleep since that night. I can’t shake this feeling of embarrassment of all things it feels like my manhood is at stake something I never thought my gay self would say. The worst of it is that I still want to continue I just don’t know how? How do I get to the next level? How do I walk back into that room in front of those people and the instructors? How do I say to my family ok lets waste some more money we don’t have for me to learn what seems like something I am in incapab