Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums Student Lounge commando krav maga

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 47 total)
  • Author
    blokrocbet

is there anyone taking this variation

simon

Re: commando krav maga

If you use the search feature you will find many posts on this topic. I can tell you from what I have read in the forums it is not thought fondly of as legitimate Krav Maga, this is not my personal opinion as I have no direct knowledge of it but most of the KM forums seem pretty down on it.

mara-jade

Afternoon folks and welcome!:wav:

As Simon said, doing a search on commando krav maga should get you some hits. What I’ve seen as ‘not fondly’ is for a civil debate to turn into the ‘my krav is better than your krav’ and that’s where it could get ugly. Sean does a great job of keeping conversations from turning that way as much as possible.

Please, don’t feel you’re in the wrong place. I just dunno how many responses you’ll get to your question to be honest:dunno:

By all means though, please feel free to hang aroundthumbsup

vinman

I personally have nothing against Moni or Commando Krav Maga

I’ve done some research, and learned that Moni trained with Imi, and (supposedly) even helped him decide what would be taught in KM. According to his site, he also saw battles with the Syrians.

Who am I to discredit the guy, and/or say that he’s a liar ??

He obviously knows KM, and has added his own variations (judo) to suit his needs. Its funny, but do any of the instructors we saw in the “Human Weapon” actually teach pure KM, or do they all have their own variations/systems ??

My school also learns some variations as well with Mike Kanarek’s HaganaH…which I think is some real good (and super practical) stuff

Isnt KM a mixture of many martial arts (boxing, Thai boxing, wrestling, karate), using only what works best on the street ??

I dont think anyone will watch a KM video and say “hey look, they stole that right cross from boxing”

simon

quote Vinman: