Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Fight Quest Krav Maga – My Observations

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 42 total)
  • Author
    satilan

Okay, so I watched the Fight Quest Krav Maga episode and just thought I will share some of my comments and insight about Israeli KM, both civilian and military.

WARNING: long post.
    I split the post into parts for your convenience.
    Please feel free to skip to any part of this post, or all of it if you want

Disclaimer: Everything in this is based upon my own opinions and thus, is rooted plainly on my experiences from Israel. So if you donít agree, please donít judge and also fell free to open a discussion about this fascinating topic.

My Background: Real quick, just so that you know where Iím coming from (Fell free to skip this). I grew up in Netanya, Israel and train with Haim Gideon, Yigal Arbiv and later with Gabi Noach. I started training in 1999 I was 15 at the time. Went all the way to Green Belt. Then, I had to stop my civilian KM training because I went to serve in the Israeli Navy. I spent almost three years on an Israeli Fast Missile Boat where I had 12 sailors under my command. I moved to Los Angeles two years ago and started training at the excellent Sherman Oaks KM center about six months ago.

Intro:
    Seems to me like a great episode, I enjoyed it way more than the equivalent Human Weapon episode, which was filled with exaggerations, errors, and generalizations.
    Doug trained with a civilian instructor named Avivit Cohen. She is a level 2 black belt and started training under Haim Zut. Israel has seen a lot of KM ìspin offsî and Haim Zutís federation appears to be one of them.
    Jimmie trained with the KM officers/instructors of the Israeli Defense Force at the Wingate Institute, near my home town of Netanya (Shoutout).

Aggression: