Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Krav noob in need of advice

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 41 total)
  • Author
    beach-ranger

This is my first post in the forum, and I would appreciate your input on a situation I had in my last class.

First, some quick background. I’m 40 years old, and I’m taking classes with an IKI (Israeli Krav International) – Moshe Katz school (which as far as I know from what I read in another thread, isn’t even considered Krav by some readers in this forum.) I’ve been training for about a month and a half, and I have no previous martial arts training in any form whatsoever. I live in a rather tough environment and my family was once randomly attacked by a person with a mental illness; my mother in particular was in serious danger in that situation. This made me consider learning some form of self-defense for the very first time, and so I started training with this school which is about an hour by car from where I live.

Now, here is the situation I would like your input on. In our last class we were doing some simple sparring, combined with low kicks and an elbow strike at the end. My sparring partner was apparently doing something wrong with the elbow attack, so the instructor stepped in for a moment to illustrate the motions. I put my hands in front of me, and the instructor tapped on one hand first, then the next, did the 2 low kicks without making contact… then to my complete surprise he went under my hands and against my chest full force with his elbow. BAM!! The hit pushed me back about 3 or 4 feet and it was extremely painful. I had to excuse myself for a moment to get some air. I heard the instructor behind me laugh and say “and I didn’t hit you as hard as I could.”