Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics "Training is great and all, but useless in a real life situation"

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 34 total)
  • Author
    jdawgmcb

alright, I just finished talking to a friend who has been in his share of fights (and his ego is that of a quarterback playing high school football…40000% he is the ****)

I had been telling him about how I had been training krav 4 nights a week for the last 4 months, as well as studying the discipline in my spare time (via books / the krav maga videos)

I do have the reputation of being kind of a book-smart, nerdy, pacifistic kid…so that may explain why he thought about this.

I told him the aim of krav maga and about some of the stuff we did, he told me that all of that stuff is “useless” in a real world situation and that he could still probably drop me in about 4 seconds.

Naturally, I wanted to disagree with him…i responded “Well, even if i wanted to…i don’t have the spirit to fight you, you’re one of my best friends” and the subject later changed.

I have 4 months of krav maga training behind my belt from an IKMF training center, he has a few scrap fights here and there in high school. (Yes, high school…he is now a junior in high school)

This is why i picked krav – because I want to be able to stand up against someone LIKE HIM (mind you, i definitely don’t want to deliver a groin kick or hammer strike to the back of the neck to a kid i’ve known for a long time)

I guess I’m just a little frustrated that people still see me as a whimp…but I know I have come far :).

don

Re: "Training is great and all, but useless in a real life situation"