Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 40 total)
  • Author
    xlr8t

Since i’m very new to KM, I would like to get some advice on gyn work out during the off trainging days any help would be great

doesithurt

Re: work out

I guess it depends on what you want to achieve. I personally do a lot of cardio work on my off-days, mostly running and biking. In bad weather, I am going through Bas Rutten’s Mixed Martial Arts workout CDs. I find that building endurance helps me more doing Krav, than building strength.

Christian

la-revancha

Doesithurts addresses the first priority: you need to define your workout goals (strength? conditioning? lose weight? rehab a bad knee?). However, I support the Bas Rutten MMA workout for those looking to improve cardio endurance, muscle tone, and overall strength. I say buy the CDs, buy a Fairtex/Revgear banana bag, and start bludgeoning the bag.

In my experience, power yoga substantially improves flexibility and strength (I think it greatly enhances grappling ability). Try googling Brian Kest’s \”Power Yoga\” series. My roommate gave me his tapes and I use them religiously. His gym is in Santa Monica if you’re in the L.A. area.

I have nothing against lifting weights, but my current \”weight room free\” routine has demonstrated some delightfully surprising results. I few weeks ago, I went to lift with some personal trainers. I haven’t been in a weight room in nearly two years, but I was still able to Bench 235 and squat 225 without serious difficulty. Not bad for a 5’5\”, 165 lb. gnome.

I owe it all to KM, BJJ, Bas, and Yoga.

Good luck

siayn