Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics A bad situation. Need advice.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 59 total)
  • Author
    twig

Hello. I am a Krav student who has been training at the NTC for 3 years. I hardly post on this forum. However, my fiancÈe and I received some terrible news tonight, which has compelled me to post.
    My fiancÈeís best friend was followed home by a stranger, held at gunpoint, tied-up, and then raped.
    The good news is that she is alive, seems to be moving forward with her life, and the rapist has been caught (there is at least one other victim).
    The bad news is that our friend was still a victim of a heinous crime: we are still concerned for her, and, because the news hit so close to home, we are feeling vulnerable ourselves.

With all that in mind, there are a couple of things I want bring up:

1) Our friend, the victim, lives in Florida, which is where the crime took place. We want to encourage her to do Krav Maga. My fiancÈeís cousin survived a similar situation in NYC a few years ago. She tried Krav and it helped her tremendously. Does anyone have any experience with the Krav schools in Coral Gables and/or Davie? How are the facilities? Teachers? And how do the curriculum and teaching methods compare to the NTC?

2) Iíve been trying to get my fiancÈe to take Krav for 3 years to no avail. Itís just not her thing. Although she is not interested in doing something thatís so physically taxing, she is still interested in learning some basic techniques that would help her if she ever finds herself in a bad situation (all she has right now is pepper spray!). Can anyone recommend alternative women-self defense programs/workshops in the L.A. area?

Thanks.

siayn

My wife also refuses to do Krav.

Her and I both read a book called Strong on Defense by Stanford Strong.

http://www.townhall.com/opinion/books_entertainment/reviews/AmericaPetersonFrancis/140922.html