Home Forums Krav Maga Worldwide Forums General KM Related Topics Question: Telling people about your training

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 52 total)
  • Author
    maddogmean

Thursday I attended a leadership seminar for my job. I was in a banquet-meeting hall with about 80 people from various different businesses. Each person had to stand up and tell the room their name, business/position, and a unique talent/skill (non-business related).

I told the room that my talent/skill (it was really an interest more than a skill) was that I was a technology/gadget freak. Anyway…

This girl I work with (who knows about my training) asked why I didn’t tell everyone I studied Krav Maga. She said “I think people would have found it interesting.” I really didn’t have a straight forward answer. Honestly I didn’t want to sound like I thought I was a badass. I seem to only talk about it with people I train with and close friends.

Anyone else had a similar experience and how did you handle it?

mara-jade

Re: Question: Telling people about your training

“Honestly I didn’t want to sound like I thought I was a badass. I seem to only talk about it with people I train with and close friends”

I DEFINITELY understand where you’re coming from. My work knows about it, my family, people I train with and close friends. Some don’t quite understand why at first but then they see how psyched I get talking about it.

It’s like you’ve got your own little secret switch and you don’t want EVERYONE to know. I think it takes away any element of surprise you may have.

vinman

very few people know what I do (most of the people I work with dont know), and i plan on keeping it that way…..

kmman

I dont advertise it but it comes up often when the topic of fitness comes up. Usually when people ask about working out or gyms I will tell them I train. I downplay it and use the fitness angle mostly.