Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 66 total)
  • Author
    riight112

Hi all,

I’m relatively new to KM and have been training for a couple months now. I know every style has their own way of dealing with different scenarios and their own unique techniques and ways of doing things. I like to think that their is no one absolute superior style (maybe the differences lie with the practitioner). My question is what sort of weak areas are there in the KM style. I recall reading on another thread here that one thing is that there is not much offensive weapons technique, and no trapping and hand/energy drills, for the JKD folks.

Are there any areas that are lacking? If so, what are they? My plan is to attend seminars on various topics that may not be covered in my KM training.

Hopefully this doesn’t start any heated debates. Thanks in advance.

leejam99

Re: KM Weaknesses?

quote riight112:

Hi all,

I recall reading on another thread here that one thing is that there is not much offensive weapons technique…

well..it is called “Krav Maga self DEFENSE”…

Educate your self much as you can on every subject and styles. Keep what works for you, forget the rest.

taikei

I’m learning Krav Maga since November 2002, and they don’t have the defense for followings:

1. Cheese cake thrown at you, no way to defend.
    2. Dogs lick your face, no way to defend.

Compared to mix martial art and other competitive martial arts, I cannot say Krav Maga is defensive. Fire arm defense and take away in 5 seconds, no need for trapping.